Project 8 – Reduction Printing

Blue Assembly

blue-assembly

Developing the print image from Assembly I decided to use this relatively simple design to attempt a 3 colour reduction print, having never attempted this before.

va2

 Edward Hughes/Palladio Wallpapers “Basuto” Wallpaper sample 1955

Starting with the colour pallette from one of the 1950’s V and A pattern designs I reworked the assembly design in gouache in my sketchbook.

blue-paint

Original gouache on paper colour sketch. 20 x 20 cm

 

 

I then cut the first colour, the white areas and inked up in pale blue and printed this.

blue-2

Doesn’t look too good so far! The texture is from the emulsion paint I applied to help with keeping the design on the lino. I removed this and inked up again. Luckily I managed to print quite a few as I was aiming for an edition of 10 (or more?). I then cut away the areas that were going to stay pale blue so that I could print the darker blue areas.

img_7465

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

Here’s the print with 2 colours. What an improvement! I made a 3 colour edition of 10 plus an edition of 3 with 2 colours.

Finally I cut away the rest of the lino plate to give it the 3rd and final colour.

img_7467

I managed to print an edition of 10 reasonable prints, pretty much registered, which was an achievement I am fairly proud of despite not being quite so excited by the image itself. I would like to have more variety of marks and shapes, and I found the technique difficult to work as it requires patience and planning. I am more of an intuitive printmaker, finding the right composition by playing with shapes and colours and seeing what happens.

IMG_7471.jpg

Reduction printing requires a commitment to a finished print right from the start.

img_7514

 

 

blue-assembly

Blue Assembly  Reduction Lino prin1/10

blue-2-assembly

Blue 2 Assembly   – 2 colour Reduction Lino print 3/3

Leave a comment