Project 13 – Combination mono and linoprint

Outcome – series of prints

I wanted to try the technique of caustic soda etching of lino for a previous project – but didn’t have the time, so this was an ideal opportunity to try this out. I had originally bought the caustic soda for assignment 3 and it had been knocking around since then.

img_2640

The process needs to use the old fashioned linseed oil, hessian backed lino material to work, and then areas to be left are to covered in some kind of resist. Examples of resistant materials that can be used for this process are; parcel tape, candle wax…..

img_2639

I decided to use simple masked areas of tape in diagonal lines, reflecting some of the images from the Concrete Cuba artists, I also added some drops of candle wax to soften the piece.

wilfredo arcay

img_2642

Once I had completed the resist part of this process, I then covered the lino in a mixture of caustic soda and wallpaper paste.

Leave a comment